top of page

We chat to Hunter Kennedy

Q. As someone who has without a doubt, whether it be on purpose or by accident, lead both an underground and public revolution,

Hunter Kennedy is a name that stands out above many others... How did it come about that someone with a name that sounds like a long lost grandson of a very famous American president finds himself at the cutting edge of Afrikaans music and culture as a whole for that matter?

A.Lol, I feel flattered and embarrassed at the same time. If this is the cutting-edge kill me now! I'm not sure how to answer this one… My name is the same as my great-grandfather's, he was an Irishman that came to South-Africa. My dad always says that he was a horse-thief. Not sure what to make of that. I guess he married an Afrikaans woman, because his kids were all Afrikaans and so skip 2 generations and you have me. I deliberately started playing music in High School with my friends, Francois Van Coke and Wynand Myburgh. We started Fokofpolisiekar with two other friends, Snakehead Venter and Johnny De Ridder a while later and by accident we split into a few other bands. I now also play for Die Heuwels Fantasties.

Q. After quite a number of years as lyricist, rhythm guitarist, backing vocalist and founding member of the incredible FOKOFPOLISIEKAR , you helped form AKING and The genre defying, crossover group DIE HEUWELS FANTASTIES but what a lot of people might not realize is that you have your finger in even more pies than that for instance your SUPRA FAMILIAS label, tell us more about the label, as well as the artists involved?

A. SUPRA FAMILIAS was formed out of necessity and a bit of stubbornness. When myself and Pierre Greeff started Die Heuwels Fantasties we thought that we could do the whole label thing on our own. Just cut that middle-man out. Pierre's more of the business brain. Most of the time I don't know what I'm doing exactly. We help out our mates from time to time, but basically do Heuwels stuff, although that has become a PTY on it's own. Except for Heuwels albums under Supra Familias we did the first Thieve album as a joint-venture with Snakehead Venter, we did the first Jack Parow album, we did Van Coke Kartel's 'Wie's Bang' and we're also doing the Francois Van Coke solo album. We've done a few film compilations and compilations for NGO's. We also released the VanFokKingTasties acoustic album.

Q. Being involved with FOKOFPOLISIEKAR, has surely come with itís fair share of Pro's and Con's. Can you imagine your life without it? What would Hunter Kennedy be doing if FPK never existed?

A. I can't really seperate my life from Fokof. We started it when I was 21. Before that I studied graphic design and fine arts. Maybe something in that direction? Although tropical-island-underwater-yoga-instructor does have a ring to it.

Q. DIE HEUWELS FANTASTIES have crossed over to an immense crowd from lovers of rock music to dance music, underground to commercial, and literally everything in between, has this always been the plan with the band, to take it as far as it could possibly go, or is there a point where you feel, we can't do that, that's selling out for instance?

A. The plan was to make music that as many people as possible can listen to. We listen to a vast array of different genres and so we took for granted that a lot of other people are the same. The term 'selling out' is a bit of a non-issue for me these days. Of course you want to sell out. Sell out your shows. Sell out your albums. Sell out your shirts. If that's not what you want to do then I don't know why you're making the stuff? We'll draw the line when we feel uncomfortable with something. But in general we're not taste-nazi's. Different people like different stuff. Thank God.

Q. You have quite a trademark look, and to a certain degree have become a bit of a fashion Icon to a lot of people, a good part of a generation even. Is this something you purposefully set out to do, is this something you have any interest in?

A. Hahahaha. Uhm… You sure you're talking to the right person? In the beginning of Fokof I wore the jeans passed on from Francois and Wynand and maybe some of the clothing I 'borrowed' from the surf store I worked at. I try not to look like a tit, although I have the sneaking suspicion that I look like a tit anyway. I've made peace with it, though.

Q. Anyone who's ever seen a live FPK, DHF or AKING show, has seen a variant of that famous red flannel shirt you perform in. How many do you have, and has there ever been a situation where a fan tried to get one off you?

A. Hahaha, jisso. Climbing in. I think I had a few, some we got from Levi's. They sponsored us for a while. That was great. People have tried to swop shirts with me, but we're rarely the same size and I'm not one for taking off my shirt in public. I'm fat and so, although it was expensive, I don't like showing off my pale, naked belly.

Q. You've shared stages with some of South Africa and the world's most impressive artists, bands and acts, is there one show that has stood out for you, as the best or for that matter the worst?

A. When Die Heuwels opened for Kings Of Leon I was astonished by the crowd. Something like 76K people in that football stadium. That was awesome. Our tours to the Netherlands are always great. I love Amsterdamage. There was a real togetherness between us and the crowd when Fokof played at Koppi a couple of years back. That was magical.

Q. Any bands, artists or acts you would love to share a stage with in future or even collaborate with?

A. I'm sure there will be more collaborations. Nothing planned at the moment, though.

Q. As a man of many creative talents, do you have a lot of artists, lyricists, writers or poets that inspire your talents, or is there a single person that you look up to?

A. It changes. Depends on which medium I'm into for that moment. Right now I am really enjoying Neil Gaiman's imagination. I really enjoyed the film Nightcrawler, I think it was an excellent effort for first time director Dan Gilroy. Mark Ronson is an inspiration on the music side of things. Charles Bukowski is a constant inspiration. I'm a bit of a nostalgia nut and so I constantly watch or listen or read stuff that I enjoyed as a kid. I like Jodorowsky's Holy Mountain, but I also like Indiana Jones! I like Harry Belafonte, but I also like Slayer. I like Bill Bryson, but I also like Roald Dahl.

Q. Are there creative avenues other than the ones you obviously possess, that you'd like to explore?

A. I'm really interested in film, but more than that, 'Story' seems to be what I'm focussing on nowadays. It seems like all mediums have that one thing in common… What is it about?

Q. What don't we know about Hunter Kennedy? Any hidden talents or hobbies?

A. I am a very regular human being. I'm very lazy, but I'm also prone to boredom. I in fact possess zero inherent talents. I'm just working until I can learn to sit still. In an ideal world I would have a wardrobe full of the same outfit that I'll wear everyday. It would be a swimshort. I would then stumble out of bed and go lie down in a hammock over an azure ocean shore and catch-up on all the reading. My wife and kids will be there of course, unless they have more pressing matters. Maybe my talent is day-dreaming?

Q. Your top 5 tracks of all time, and why?

Tough! Okay, well here are my top tracks of all time right now

1. Don't Worry Be Happy - Bobby McFerrin

I don't think I need to qualify the merits of this song.

2. A change is gonna come - Sam Cooke

I cry every time I hear this song. It is so effective. It relays every person's story, although it has it's roots in the Human Rights struggle. "It's been too hard living, but I'm afraid to die". Brilliant.

3. Chris-Jan Swart - David Kramer

David Kramer is a genius. This song is so layered but appears simplistic. I love the images in this song. I imagine Wes Anderson could've made the music video. "Haar lippies en

haar vingernaels is dieselfde bloedrooi kleur". I think it was meant to be a funny song, but I find it heart-wrenchingly beautiful in it's depiction of the stereotypical Modern Afrikaans family. I think the last notes allude to the true meaning.

4. Nine Inch Nails - Heresy

This was the first direct and personal attack on religion I had heard in song. It blew my mind wide open. I was scared and exhilarated and it was coming from my discman.

"Your God is dead and no-one cares. If there is a hell, I'll see you there."

5. Boy in the Bubble - Paul Simon

Graceland is probably my favourite album of all time. What Paul Simon did here was unprecedented and proof that music can override politics. Paul Simon is an absolute lyrical genius and I've tried to employ his word association style of writing into my own.

"every generation throws a hero up the pop charts

Medicine is magical and magical is art

Thinking of the Boy in the Bubble

And the baby with the baboon heart"

Q. Whatís playing on your IPOD/Mp3 Player/ or car radio at the moment?

A. I'm reliving my punk-phase at the moment. Out Come The Wolves by Rancid is an

astonishingly good 90's take on what The Clash started.

Q. Youíve played essential roles in a number of incredible bands, what are the chances of seeing a Hunter Kennedy solo project, and if so what style would it be?

A. I've been toying with the idea. There are a few problems. I can't sing, I can't play an instrument properly and I can't write music. They are however minor hurdles. Yeah, I don't know. It will probably be a lot of styles. Lou Reed springs to mind. I don't know, though. Don't hold your breath.

Q. It is very rare these days to find a full on rock band, guitars, drums, bass that hasn't got some sort of electronic influence, Dance music today is bigger than it's ever been. where do you see music as a whole going in South Africa, as well as globally? Will everything eventually become electronic, or will it eventually all loop back to a more minimalistic approach?

A. Music in general is a lot more popular than ever because there are more people on the planet than ever. I think there will be a constant flux between two extremes. The cycle of trends. Action/Reaction. At one point even the electric guitar was at the forefront of technology, you know? All music is 'dance' music. The synthesiser is 50 years old. There's nothing new. That's how people sell shit, by claiming it's 'new'.

Q. Rumours, both plausible and absurd have been floating around for a quite a while, concerning a possible new FPK album, can you tell us anything about it?

A. I wish I had something to say. We've been trying to do an album for ages. But it's tough. Everyone is quite busy.

Q. What can we expect from Hunter Kennedy in the near and distant future?

A. Don't expect anything. That way you won't be disappointed.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
bottom of page