top of page

We Chat To Francois Van Coke

Q: Whether it's through a decision of your own, association, word of mouth, positive or negative, I would imagine that the name “Francois Van Coke”, comes with quite a set of responsibilities, expectations and a roller-coaster of ups and downs, when you wake up in the morning, and you've decided which side of the bed you get up on… what does a typical day in the life of Francois van Coke look like?

A: A typical day at home and a typical day on the road is very different. At home I wake up early, try and do some exercise. I like to jog. I manage myself at the moment, so I do loads of admin. I will probably have a rehearsal or work on new music during the day. I also try and walk my dog in the morning and evening and hang with my wife, Lauren, at night. On the road it is a wake up early, do admin, drive, do interviews, drive, do sound check, chill for a bit, play a show, hang out, get to bed late and all of that again the next day.

Q:Being part of some of SA's most talked about bands, from Fokofpolisiekar and Van Coke Kartel to the obscurity of Oorlog Frankenstein, where whatever happens in your music is an expression of the whole bands emotions and ideas. How does Francois approach a Solo Album? Will we be seeing another side of Francois in his Solo album which we haven't seen in some of the work that made you famous?

A:I think you will be seeing other sides, for sure. I made a point of writing a album that is not genre specific and also tried to steer away from making a straight forward rock album. It is probably still rock based, but influenced by punk, folk, country, industrial and even pop. I didn't’t want to rehash Fokof or VCK. The lyrics on the album is still introspective and personal, so not too many surprises there. I did a collab with a female vocalist for the first time. It is a proper ballad, I haven’t done many of those. I became good friends with Karen Zoid the last year and it was really cool writing with her.

Q:Something I'm sure you've been asked about to the point of irritation, is the controversy that

sparked a flame that quite possibly formed the foundation of a thriving alternative Afrikaans culture… Do you ever set out with a specific intention when it comes to each single, album, interview, live show… or is Francois just unashamedly , unrehearsed Francois… in other words… “Wat Die Hart Van Vol Is”?

A:When we started Fokofpolisiekar it was completely for ourselves. We wanted to make Afrikaans music that we can listen to. Luckily a lot of people could relate to those early songs and we had a reason to carry on. I think these days I think about what our, or my, fans would like to hear. The listener is important too. Live shows has always been very important in Van Coke Kartel and we are a very tight unit that rehearse and play good shows. Fokofpolisiekar is a little more loose, unpredictable and wild. I am not really sure how to answer this question, it is so broad. So, yes. I rehearse, I try to write good songs that people will enjoy, I want to put up a great live show when I start playing these songs live and I will be honest.

Q:The music industry has changed immensely, since the release of “As Jy Met Vuur Speel Sal Jy Brand” with FPK back in 2003… TV channels like MK have come and gone, MTV has gone from a Music channel, to a desperate reality tv channel, Vinyl has gone from something your parents listened to, to a desired and fresh new format… CD sales have gone down lower than ever before and through it all, guys like yourself keep hammering on, making it work somehow… How do you make sure that your own audience keeps buying your music, supporting your live shows, and more importantly how do you make sure there's always some form of proverbial “food on the table” and “clothes on your back”?

A:Adapt or die. Stay relevant while sticking to your guns. I hope that works. That is how I see other bands survive for decades. Ja, times have changed and the industry has changed drastically. But, we have never had massive album sales and we always had to tour to put food on the table.

Q:On the subject of Albums and Solo careers. Can you tell us more about the process you go

through to produce a hit song or even just your incredibly personal lyrics?

A:I decided to start working on the solo material in early 2014. Jedd Kossew(VCK guitarist) was my writing partner for it, so the writing process was pretty similar to Van Coke Kartel. But, this album is less riff based than VCK and most of the songs were written on a acoustic guitar. If the song worked in its simplest form we started fleshing it out. Writing songs is a outlet for me, so I just write about what I know, feel and think I need to say at the time. I am not sure how to produce a hit song. I have never been involved in a massive mainstream hit.

Q: As the years pass by, and FPK fans wait eagerly for a new FPK Album,does it become more and more difficult to actually get something done, that the entire band agrees on putting out there?

A:All of us would love to make an album, but there is just not enough time. Johnny is running a studio and he writes music for commercials. He is probably the busiest of all of us. He wrote most of the music for Fokofpolisiekar and we don’t really want to do it without him. I am doing the solo album now, so my focus will be on this for a while. It is not about agreeing on something, just finding the time to do it is the biggest problem. Hopefully we will get a new song out this year.

Q:What is it that you reach into for inspiration, and does it ever run dry?

A:I just start writing. If it is kak, I will write another song.

Q: FPK and it's members including yourself are famous for your outside of the box attitudes and beliefs. What advise would you give to anyone who has a particular conviction, how to stick to their guns, and what they believe in or choose not to believe in for that matter, too spite social or political correctness.

A:Do whatever you believe is right. Stick to your guns if you want to. If you don’t want to, don’t.

Q:Over the years, it seems your stage show has just become more energetic, even louder and not only have the crowds become bigger, but dare I say even more enthusiastic… How do you keep it up night after night, and do you ever feel a time will come where you actually sit back and relax? Or will Francois Van Coke eventually knock Keith Richards off his throne?

A:This is what I do. It is my life and the way I make a living. I hope the shows get better all the time. I am in better physical shape than I ever was in my 20’s. So, I probably have more energy. I will probably make music until I die, but I do like to relax from time to time. I am taking a holiday in June. Just a week or so.

Q:What would we be super surprised to find out about Francois Van Coke?

A:I am a massive rugby fan. WP, Stormers and The Boks.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
bottom of page